Register / Sign in



Top electric-powered motorcycle race teams MotoCzysz and Mugen will again to go head to head in the SES TT Zero Race on the Isle of Man next week.

Both teams broke the 100mph average speed barrier around the TT Mountain Course last year, with the Japanese outfit Mugen splitting the MotoCzysz pair, with all three podium placed riders posting times in excess of 100mph.

Michael Rutter took the honours and a cheque for £10,000 in 2012 with the first ever 100mph lap recorded by an electric bike, but he was chased all the way by John McGuinness's Mugen, finishing with a time of 102.2mph, 23 seconds behind. Mark Miller was a further 15 seconds back in third place.

This year Rutter will be first away on the road, followed by his MotoCzysz teammate Mark Miller. MotoCzysz are looking to achieve an average lap speed in excess of 110mph, a time that would make them competitive in the conventional 650cc Supertwin class.

Nineteen time TT champion John McGuinness will again lead the Mugen effort but on an extensively modified bike that features an all-new chassis and power train as well as completely new bodywork. The team has targeted a lap in excess of 110mph.