Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeNEWScontenders for the Torrens Trophy

contenders for the Torrens Trophy

The contenders for a prestigious RAC Torrens Trophy have been announced.

The trophy – to be presented early in 2020 at the Club’s historic Pall Mall clubhouse – is awarded to an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution in the United Kingdom to:

• The cause of safe and skilful motorcycling

• Technical excellence to further the cause of motorcycling

• Showing outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events.

Last year the worthy recipient of the Torrens Trophy was British speedway ace Tai Woffinden for winning his third Speedway World title and becoming the most successful British speedway rider in history. This year, the shortlist of nominees for the Torrens Trophy is:

Peter Hickman: The new king of the roads – Hickman’s three 2019 Isle of Man TT victories on BMW and Triumph machines were pure poetry.

Scott Redding: Dropped by MotoGP, Redding came out fighting in 2019 to dominate Bennetts BSB and gain a 2020 Ducati factory World Superbike ride.

Triumph Motorcycles: Arguably Britain’s greatest manufacturing success of recent decades, Triumph is now engine supplier for the Moto2 World Championship.

The club’s Torrens Trophy Nominations Committee consists of chairman and ex-bike racer Barrie Baxter, Royal Automobile Club chairman Ben Cussons, well-respected motorcycle journalist and TT winner Mat Oxley, commentator and former racer Steve Parrish, club member Richard Bourne (son of motorcycle journalis, Arthur Bourne, in memory of whom the trophy is awarded) and ‘Queen of Bikers’ Maria Costello MBE, who has held the Guinness World Record for being the fastest woman to lap the Isle of Man TT course.



Product News

Yamaha – odd brand out

As the only Japanese motorcycle manufacturer directly facing Western rivals, in a calendar year split paralleling the same seasonal production and sales demands, Yamaha...