Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeNEWShutchie, kent, rea, woffinden up for award

hutchie, kent, rea, woffinden up for award

TT rider Ian Hutchinson is one of four bikers shortlisted for the Royal Automobile Club’s prestigious Torrens Trophy.  The other riders on the shortlist, which was revealed on Saturday at the Motorcycle Live Show at the NEC in Birmingham, are 2015 Moto3 championship winner Danny Kent, World Superbike Champion Jonathan Rea and Double Speedway World Champion Tai Woffinden.

Hutchinson, affectionately known as “The Bingley Bullet”, won three races at this year’s Isle of Man TT Races, the first time he has stood on the podium on the Isle of Man since his record-breaking five victories in a week in 2010.  

Hutchinson has fought back from a compound tibia and fibia fracture sustained at Silverstone in 2010, shortly after his historic TT, that at one point saw him face the threat of having his left leg amputated.  He has undergone more than 30 operations as a result of his injuries.

Barrie Baxter, Torrens Trophy nominations committee chairman, commented: “Ian Hutchinson’s story and subsequent success is not only one of the most remarkable in the history of motorcycle racing, but also the world of sport in general. His achievement in returning to the top step of the Isle of Man is one of the truly great stories of world sport and he is an inspiration for everyone who is struggling to overcome injury.”

The Torrens Trophy recognises outstanding contributions to the cause of safe and skilful motorcycling, technical excellence to further the cause of motorcycling, or to have shown outstanding skill in international motor cycling sporting events in the United Kingdom.

The Torrens Trophy was first awarded in 1978 in memory of Arthur Bourne, a motorcycling journalist, who was also a vice-chairman of the RAC, who wrote a column under the name Torrens.  The trophy has only been awarded nine times since its inception. It is only awarded when the club feels that the achievement justifies it.

The club’s Torrens Trophy nominations committee, which comprises club member Ben Cussons, ex-bike racer Barrie Baxter, well-respected motorcycle journalist Mat Oxley, former racer and commentator Steve Parrish and Arthur Bourne’s son Richard Bourne, judges the award.

Previous winners include BMW in 1989 in recognition for its contribution to motorcycle safety through its development of its anti-lock braking system and in 1998 to Ian Kerr of the Metropolitan Police for 20 years of tireless work in promoting safe and responsible motorcycling. 

In 2008 World Superbike Champion James Toseland was awarded the trophy for his immense contribution to raising the profile of motorcycle racing in this country and more recently Tom Sykes for becoming the fifteenth World Superbike Champion, and the fourth from Great Britain.  Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne won the award in 2014 for winning his fourth BSB title. 

The Torrens Trophy nominations committee will announce the winner in January 2016.


Product News

Reaction: The man in the white suit

I started in this stimulating industry as a sales representative for Greeves Motorcycles in January 1964; then after 30 plus years at the coalface,...